Bridgeport Breach of Peace Lawyer
Depending on the type of conduct involved in a breach of peace incident, you could face significant jail time and heavy fines. To begin working on your defense and a positive outcome, contact a Bridgeport breach of peace lawyer.
What is Breach of Peace in Connecticut?
In general terms, when someone acts in a way that intentionally or recklessly causes a risk of inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm to others, they may face arrest for breach of the peace under Connecticut law.
Breach of peace can encompass many forms of disruptive conduct, including threatening to damage the property of others, fighting, and making obscene gestures. Essentially, any action that creates a potentially alarming or offensive condition in a public place may lead to an arrest for breach of peace.
What is First-Degree Breach of the Peace?
An arrest for breach of the peace in the first degree under Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) § 53a-180aa can occur only in particular situations defined by law. More specifically, to commit first-degree breach of peace, individuals must place non-working or imitation explosives, incendiary devices, or hazardous substances in public places in which others are likely to discover them. These actions must be taken intentionally or with reckless indifference to the risk of causing others inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm.
What are the Penalties for Breach of Peace in the First Degree?
First-degree breach of the peace is a Class D felony punishable by up to five years in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. A conviction also creates a permanent felony record that has other adverse implications. As a result, contacting a breach of peace lawyer in Bridgeport for advice when facing these severe consequences may be beneficial.
What is Breach of Peace in the Second Degree?
Under C.G.S. § 53a-181, many different actions can lead to second-degree breach of the peace charges. Fighting, threatening others with harm, or making obscene gestures in public may result in charges if the actions are taken with the intent to cause or reckless disregard for the risk of inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm.
What are the Penalties for Second-Degree Breach of Peace?
Second-degree breach of peace is a Class B misdemeanor. The maximum penalties are up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. This also creates a permanent criminal record and brings along many long lasting consequences.
Call a Bridgeport Breach of Peace Attorney Today
Whether you face immediate arrest for breach of the peace or a misdemeanor summons to appear in court, the stakes are high. You may need the assistance of a Bridgeport breach of peace lawyer to attain the best results. With legal help, you may be able to reduce the potential penalties or even avoid a criminal conviction altogether. Call Mark Sherman Law to learn how an accomplished attorney can help in your situation.