Connecticut Disorderly Conduct Lawyer
One of the most frequently charged crimes in the Connecticut domestic violence courts is Disorderly Conduct under C.G.S. 53a-182. It is the least serious domestic violence offense in the Connecticut law books, yet it is the most frustrating. People arrested for Disorderly Conduct must survive a first-day-of-court gauntlet of interviews, interrogations, and a restraining order hearing.
An arrest for Disorderly Conduct in Connecticut usually arises from a heated verbal argument, or a not-so-serious physical confrontation between two spouses, family members, or significant others (such as pushing, shoving, or throwing of household items). If you are facing charges, consider speaking with a Connecticut disorderly conduct lawyer immediately.
What is Disorderly Conduct / 53a-182 in Connecticut?
Experienced criminal lawyers know that Disorderly Conduct in Connecticut is an incredibly broad charge. Most often, Disorderly Conduct arrests involve one of the following:
- Fighting or engaging in threatening, tumultuous or violent behavior
- Annoying or interfering with another person by conduct considered offensive or disorderly
- Making “unreasonable” level of noise
- Blocking traffic in the road or sidewalk
- Trespassing and watching another person in their home while they have an expectation of privacy
Besides one of the actions above, a person who is accused of disorderly conduct must either act “with intent to cause inconvenience, annoyance or alarm,” or act with such recklessness that it creates the risk of annoying, alarming or causing inconvenience to others.
Can I go to Jail for a Disorderly Conduct Charge?
Legal penalties for the charge of disorderly conduct may include both incarceration and a fine. Disorderly Conduct in Connecticut is a Class C Misdemeanor, meaning that it is a crime. In Connecticut, a conviction for such a charge may include jail time of up to three months, a fine of up to $500, and a period of probation.
Do I Need an Attorney for a Disorderly Conduct Arrest?
A disorderly conduct charge is often regarded as a serious offense. A conviction for Disorderly Conduct will negatively impact future background checks, your permanent criminal record, and your reputation within the community. An experienced Disorderly Conduct attorney who practices criminal law will help build a credible defense and resolve your case as quickly as possible.
Disorderly conduct is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by up to three months in prison, a maximum $500 fine, and probation. Prosecutors may try to bait you into pleading guilty by offering you a small fine in exchange for your guilty plea.
However, this will result in a permanent criminal record which will show up on every background check for employment, life insurance, and auto insurance. It could be helpful to speak with a disorderly conduct attorney in Connecticut before pleading guilty.
Contact a Connecticut Disorderly Conduct Lawyer Today
If you find yourself suddenly summoned to domestic violence court as a result of an arrest for 53a-182 Disorderly Conduct, consider consulting with a Connecticut disorderly conduct lawyer who can work with you to craft a credible defense. The team of criminal lawyers at our firm are focused on only one goal: the full vindication and dismissal of your 53a-182 Disorderly Conduct arrest.
Title: Excellent experience and communication
CT 06905 Phone: (203) 276-9443
Excellent experience with Mark Sherman. I felt that I was in good hands while being consulted and that feeling confirmed while going through the legal process. Mark or his office had excellent communication with me and seemed to always be available for questions.