Connecticut Sexual Assault Lawyer

Choosing a qualified sex crimes attorney to help with your defense following a sexual assault accusation is crucial to preserving your freedom and future. By retaining and working with a seasoned Connecticut sexual assault lawyer, you could greatly improve your chances of effectively defending yourself in court and securing a positive resolution to your case.

What is Sexual Contact versus Sexual Intercourse?

The most important distinction to be aware of when it comes to the difference between various degrees of sexual assault in Connecticut is that between “sexual contact” and “sexual intercourse.” Under Connecticut General Statutes §53a-65, sexual contact involves someone either coming into contact with the intimate parts of another or causing another person to come into contact with their own intimate parts for sexual gratification of the actor or to humiliate the victim.  On the other hand, intercourse is a penetrative sexual act.

What Are the Degrees of Sexual Assault in Connecticut?

C.G.S. §53a-73a defines fourth-degree sexual assault as someone engaging in sexual contact with someone who either does not consent to it or cannot consent because they are incapacitated, they are underage, or the perpetrator has a position of power over them. As a Connecticut sexual assault attorney could explain in further detail, third-degree sexual assault entails the same sort of action committed through the use or threat of force, according to C.G.S. §53-72a.

Under C.G.S. §53a-71 and 53a-70, sexual assault in the second and first degrees are differentiated based on the same dynamic, except that these acts involve sexual intercourse rather than sexual contact. Finally, certain scenarios—such as the presence of a deadly weapon or the victim suffering a serious injury—can allow for an aggravated sexual assault charge, which can result in comparatively more severe consequences upon conviction.

What are the Possible Consequences of a Conviction?

The only form of sexual assault classified as a misdemeanor in Connecticut is fourth-degree sexual assault of someone over the age of 16. This offense is a Class A misdemeanor offense, penalties for which upon conviction could include one year in jail and $2,000 in fines. If the victim is under 16 years of age, fourth-degree sexual assault is elevated to a Class D felony, for which punishments could include up to five years of imprisonment and a $5,000 fine.

Successive degrees of sexual assault are classified as increasingly severe felonies, with the most severe offenses—such as aggravated sexual assault of a minor—being Class A felonies punishable by $20,000 fines and maximum sentences of life in prison. Regardless of what degree or class of offense a particular sexual assault allegation entails, a sexual assault lawyer could work on a Connecticut defendant’s behalf to defend their rights and best interests.

To learn more about effectively building a sex assault defense in Connecticut, click here.

Speak with a Connecticut Sexual Assault Attorney Today

A seasoned Connecticut sexual assault lawyer is ready and available to help you pursue a favorable resolution to whatever level of charge you are facing. To see that in action, click here to read our hundreds of certified client reviews. Call today to schedule a consultation about your case.

Awards & Accolades
Live Chat