Darien Child Endangerment Lawyer
Laws pertaining to the endangerment of children in Connecticut are written in such a way that a wide variety of situations could be considered a violation. Unfortunately, the jail sentences for Darien injury to minors arrests are very severe. They are prosecuted as felonies punishable by ten or more years in prison and fines of several thousand dollars.
For that reason, anyone arrested or charged in Darien with child endangerment should start working with a Darien child endangerment attorney as soon as possible. A skilled domestic violence attorney with experience in child endangerment cases will know how to proceed to work toward the optimum resolution based on the circumstances.
What is Risk of Injury to a Minor?
Darien child endangerment attorneys see child endangerment cases prosecuted under Connecticut Statute, which governs “risk of injury to or impairing morals of children.” This section prohibits virtually any conduct that places a minor under the age of 16 in a situation that is “likely” to impair the child’s health or morals. With such a broad definition, it is crucial to work with an attorney who understands how the courts apply this statute.
A more serious offense under this statute involves Risk of Injury based on “contact with intimate body parts.” If a minor under the age of 16 is touched in an intimate place or is allowed to touch an adult in an intimate place and the touching is done “in a sexual and indecent manner likely to impair the health or morals of such child,” then the conduct violates § 53-21(a)(2), which is a Class B felony.
Other conduct prohibited by § 53-21(a) includes transferring custody of a child in exchange for something of value and interfering with the report of suspected child abuse. A slightly less serious arrest in Darien, Connecticut is for the crime of leaving a child unsupervised in a car or a place of public accommodation, which is set forth in Section 53-21a of the state code. This applies to children under 12.
Situations That Lead to Child Endangerment Charges
Because the Connecticut laws are written so broadly, many different types of circumstances can give rise to a Darien child endangerment charge. The injury involved may be a physical injury or it could be a perceived risk of harm to the morals of a child.
Some common scenarios that warrant the attention of a Darien child endangerment attorney include:
- A child left alone in a parked car while the driver runs into a store
- A minor in the backseat a vehicle that has been stopped for driving too fast
- A minor is exposed to pornography either on the internet or print
- Parents have a physical fight or domestic violence incident while a child is in the vicinity
- A child is disciplined by spanking or slapping that leaves a red mark on the child
- Parents use drugs or marijuana in the presence of a minor
- A child is present when an adult is stopped for shoplifting or any other behavior considered immoral
What Are The Potential Penalties For Causing Risk of Injury to a Minor?
Both “risk of injury to minor” arrests and “sale of children” arrests are Class C felonies. Penalties for these violations include as much as 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
A risk of injury charge that involves sexual contact is a Class B felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
Interfering with a report of child abuse is Class D felony with a penalty of up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Leaving a child unsupervised may be prosecuted as a Class A misdemeanor, but if the child is left during evening hours or in a place that serves alcohol, the offense becomes a felony.
Contacting a Darien Child Endangerment Attorney
This is an area of law where you cannot afford to take chances. A knowledgeable Darien child endangerment lawyer can advise you how to proceed to work toward the best possible conclusion of your case. Contact a skilled local attorney as soon as possible.