Darien Disorderly Conduct Penalties
Understanding Darien disorderly conduct penalties is the first step towards working to avoid suffering them. A top disorderly conduct lawyer could explain what the Connecticut penal code allows and what you could do to ensure your rights are upheld.
How Is Disorderly Conduct Punished?
Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-182 classifies disorderly conduct as a class C misdemeanor offense, which means that the maximum punishments allowed following a first-time conviction are a three-month jail sentence and a fine of $500. In the interest of reducing recidivism, though, the Connecticut penal code allows for a misdemeanor offense to be prosecuted as a felony the third time someone is arrested for the same offense, allowing for steeper fines and prison sentences longer than a year.
Are There Other Penalties Associated with a Conviction?
While lengthy prison stays are relatively rare outcomes from disorderly conduct cases, the financial and social penalties associated with a Darien disorderly conduct conviction can still be severe. This is especially true if an instance of disorderly conduct is associated with domestic violence during the arrest and booking processes.
If a court determines that a defendant’s disorderly conduct makes them a threat to a family member, romantic partner, spouse, or cohabitant, they have the authority to classify that offense as “domestic violence.” A person convicted of domestic violence disorderly conduct may have an immediate restraining order issued against them, be removed from their home, be unable to hold certain jobs, and may even be investigated by the Department of Children and Families if they are considered a danger to their children.
Are There Alternative Sentences Attorneys Can Ask For?
The primary goal of anyone accused of disorderly conduct should be to avoid criminal penalties entirely, and to start, that would be the sole focus of an attorney litigating such a case on a defendant’s behalf. If all options for avoiding penalties in a Darien disorderly conduct case are exhausted, though, a lawyer can work to negotiate for alternative sentencing options.
What If This Is My First Disorderly Conduct Offense?
If you are a first-time offender, you may be eligible for Connecticut’s Accelerated Rehabilitation Program. Choosing to participate in this program does not count as an admission of guilt, and successful completion of the program can allow you to have your charge dismissed and your record stay clean.
What If I Have Been Charged Before?
In the event someone is charged with domestic violence disorderly conduct and has been charged with such offenses multiple times before, it may be a good idea to pursue admittance to Connecticut’s Family Violence Education Program. This program involves constant monitoring for anywhere from six to 24 months and mandates attendance at several anger management classes, but it may be a worthwhile alternative to criminal consequences in certain cases.
Learn More About Penalties for Disorderly Conduct from a Darien Attorney
The consequences of a disorderly conduct conviction range far beyond fines and jail time. Depending on the circumstances, your offense may be categorized as domestic violence, resulting in numerous additional penalties and required procedures.
Mitigating the potential penalties for Darien disorderly conduct is far from a simple task, but it could be made much easier with help from a qualified attorney. Call Mark Sherman Law today to learn more about what may be possible in your case.