Greenwich Domestic Violence Arrests
Greenwich Connecticut Arrests
Video Title: Greenwich Connecticut Arrests
Uploaded Date: 1/9/2018
Domestic violence arrests receive more attention all the time. Increased public pressure and outrage over recent domestic violence murders in Connecticut have encouraged local lawmakers to intensify the laws and stiffen applicable penalties.
What these various domestic violence offenses share in common is that they are taken very seriously by local police and prosecutors. Greenwich domestic violence arrests can be difficult to navigate alone which is why you should consult a knowledgeable family abuse lawyer. Your attorney could devote the time and resources necessary to achieve the best possible outcome for you.
Types of Domestic Violence Assault Someone Can Get Arrested For
Assault in the third-degree is a crime with many degrees and variations. There are three degrees of assault, classified by the severity of the crime. In addition, there are crimes that involve assault against particular classes of individuals such as law enforcement officials, the elderly, or pregnant women. If someone is arrested for a potential assault domestic violence offense, there are applicable maximum jail penalties and fines in Greenwich. These include:
- Assault in the first degree – 20 years, $15,000
- Assault in the second degree – 5 years, $5,000
- Assault in the second degree with serious injury – 10 years, $10,000
- Assault in the third degree – 1 year, $2,000
- Assault causing termination of pregnancy – 25 years, $20,000
- Sexual assault – 50 years, $20,000
Threatening Second-Degree Arrests
Many people are not aware that in Connecticut, threatening to commit a violent crime can itself lead to domestic abuse arrest in Greenwich. Threatening in the second-degree is codified in CGS 53a-62 and prohibits an individual from intentionally using a physical threat to attempt to make another person fear serious physical injury; threatening to commit a violent crime with the intent of terrorizing another; or threatening to commit a violent crime with reckless disregard as to whether that threat causes terror.
A conviction for making such a threat is considered a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. However, if the offense is committed on school grounds during operating hours, the crime becomes a Class D felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Threatening in the first-degree involves the same type of situations but includes the use of a hazardous substance or weapon or with an intent to cause evacuation of a public place. This crime is usually a Class D felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Other Domestic Abuse Arrests in Greenwich
There are many different crimes that can be considered domestic or family violence if they involve individuals who share a household, family or dating relationship.
Some of the more common crimes in addition to threatening and assault and the corresponding maximum penalties are:
- Harassment in the first-degree – 5 years, $5,000
- Harassment in the second-degree – 3 months, $500
- Stalking in the first-degree – 5 years, $5,000
- Stalking in the second-degree – 1 year, $2,000
- Electronic or third-degree stalking – 6 months, $1,000
- Reckless endangerment in the first-degree – 1 year, $2,000
- Reckless endangerment in the second-degree – 6 months, $1,000
- Strangulation in the first-degree – 10 years, $10,000
Contact a Greenwich Domestic Abuse Attorney if Arrested
Because laws may be frequently amended and can be subject to various interpretations by the courts, one of the most accurate means of obtaining information on Greenwich domestic violence arrests and penalties is to consult an experienced lawyer who frequently works with domestic violence or family violence cases. Contact a local criminal defense attorney before your first court date to understand the charges against you and to help you prepare the most cost-effective defense strategy for your case.