Greenwich Risk of Injury to a Minor Lawyer
Connecticut law is serious when it comes to situations that pose a possible risk of injury to children and young teens. A risk of injury to a minor arrest in Greenwich, Connecticut can cover multiple situations where there is even a slight chance of a child facing possible physical danger or exposure to morally questionable behavior.
As Greenwich domestic violence attorneys know, a risk of injury charge is often tacked on to other charges in domestic violence arrests when children are in the home. However, the risk of injury to children charge may be more serious than the other underlying charges, because it is treated as a felony with penalties that include up to 10 or more years in prison.
If you are facing a risk of injury arrest in Greenwich, Connecticut, it is vital to work with an experienced Greenwich risk of injury to a minor lawyer who can work with you and your family and who can craft the best possible defense according to the circumstances of your case.
What is Risk of Injury to a Minor in Connecticut?
There are a few different situations when a risk of injury to a minor arrest may occur.
First, under CGS §53-21, it is unlawful to place a minor (a child under 16 years old) in a position where they are at risk of life endangerment, or at risk for injury to physical health or moral impairment.
Second, CGS §53-21 makes it unlawful to have contact with the “intimate parts” of a minor or subject the minor to having contact with the intimate parts of an adult, in any sexual or indecent manner. A violation of this subsection is a Class B felony with up to 20 years of prison time and a fine of up to $15,000.
The third category, referred to as the “sale of children,” prohibits an adult from transferring or accepting permanent legal custody of a minor under the age of 16 in exchange for money or something else of value. This offense is a Class C felony.
The fourth category, treated as a Class D felony, is “intentionally and unreasonably” preventing or interfering with the reporting of child abuse or neglect. This offense is punishable by up to five years in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.
Violations of subdivisions (1) and (2) are the most common charges, and they can arise from a number of different circumstances. Some examples include:
- Reckless driving or drunk driving with a minor in the vehicle
- Shoplifting in the presence of a child
- Leaving a child unsupervised
- Exposing a minor to explicit sexual images
- Getting a DUI / DWI with kids in the car
- Using excessive discipline in the home
- Extreme roughhousing or horseplay
Will I be Contacted by the Department of Children & Families if I am Arrested for Risk of Injury to a Minor in Greenwich?
Most likely, yes. If someone suspects or has reason to believe that a child is being abused, neglected, or endangered in any way, they can report a claim to the Connecticut Department of Children and Families (DCF). A complaint about child welfare typically will lead to an investigation by DCF. In a case where a claim is substantiated, a person’s parental or visitation rights may be affected.
Working with a Greenwich Risk of Injury Lawyer
As a felony, a charge involving risk of injury to children is serious and requires immediate action. It is essential to seek counsel from a Greenwich risk of injury to a minor lawyer who are familiar with the statutes involved and how they apply to the facts of your situation. Your attorney will guide you through the legal process and work toward the best possible resolution.
Even if the circumstances that give rise to the charge are quite innocent or well-intentioned, the law can take a very harsh stand, with potentially devastating consequences. If you have been arrested and charged with risk of injury in Greenwich, Connecticut, contact a skilled Greenwich risk of injury to a minor attorney today.