Greenwich Sexual Assault Lawyer

Sexual assault allegations are taken seriously by the police and should be taken seriously by the accused. Contesting a sex crime allegation is no small task, and during this tumultuous time in your life it can be very helpful to have a skilled defense attorney in your corner.

How is Sexual Assault Classified Under State Law?

Sex assault, formerly known as rape, is not a single crime but rather an umbrella term for four different crimes. These different crimes are known by their “degree” and can be found in Connecticut General Statutes (“C.G.S.”) §§ 53a-70 through 53a-73a.

The four degrees of sexual assault defined under Connecticut General Statutes §§53a-70 through 53a-73a are as follows:

  • Sexual assault in the fourth degree – sexual contact with someone who materially cannot consent
  • Sexual assault in the third degree – sexual contact compelled by force
  • Sexual assault in the second degree – sexual intercourse with someone who materially cannot consent
  • Sexual assault in the first degree – sexual intercourse compelled by force

A Greenwich sexual assault lawyer could offer further clarification about how Connecticut state law defines different types of alleged sexual assault.

What Penalties Could a Convicted Person Face?

With the exception of fourth-degree sexual assault of an adult, all sexual assault offenses defined under Connecticut state law are felonies punishable by at least one year of imprisonment. Depending on the degree of assault alleged and other extenuating circumstances, felony sexual assault can be punishable by anywhere from a maximum of five years in prison for a Class D felony offense, to a maximum of 25 for a Class A felony offense. Aggravated sexual assault of a minor is uniquely punishable by a prison sentence of between 25 and 50 years in length.

In addition, fines of anywhere from $2,000 to $20,000 may be levied upon conviction for sexual assault, depending on the misdemeanor or felony classification of the offense in question.

Will I Have to Register as a Sex Offender?

A conviction for any degree of sexual assault will almost always require the convicted party to register as a sex offender with the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection after they serve their prison sentence, either for 10 years or for the rest of their life. This can affect your professional and personal life in finding work or housing. Reaching out to a Greenwich Sex Assault Lawyer today can be the first step to mitigating the potential penalties involved with the charges.

Talk to a Greenwich Sexual Assault Attorney Today

Almost every variety of sexual assault codified under Connecticut state law is a felony offense, and even a misdemeanor conviction for this type of crime could permanently alter the course of your life. A Greenwich sexual assault lawyer is available to discuss your circumstances and legal options today. Check out our 5-star reviews from former clients on Avvo.com and give us a call today.

Awards & Accolades
Live Chat