Mohegan Sun Casino Assault Lawyer
If you are facing assault charges, it is wise to talk to a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. An experienced Mohegan Sun casino assault lawyer could explain the charges and your options for defense.
What is Assault?
There are multiple levels of assault in Connecticut. The three most basic assault charges are: First Degree Assault as defined by Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-59, Second Degree Assault as defined by C.G.S. §53a-60; and Third Degree Assault as defined by C.G.S. §53a-61.
Beyond these three charges there are numerous variations, that could be charged in specific situations.
What are the Penalties for Assault in CT?
Almost all assault crimes are felonies. The potential penalties for felony convictions are as follows:
- Up to five years and a $5,000 fine for a Class D felony
- One to ten years and a $10,000 fine for a Class C felony
- One to 20 years and a $15,000 fine for a Class B felony
- Ten to 25 years and a $20,000 fine for a Class A felony
Assault in the third degree is one of the only misdemeanor assault offense, and it is a Class A misdemeanor, the most serious category of misdemeanor. Those convicted of third-degree assault may be imprisoned for up to one year and required to pay a fine of up to $2,000.
It is important to note that some assault charges carry “nonsuspendable sentences” meaning that jail time is mandatory.
When is Assault buy alprazolam online Treated as a Felony?
In most situations, if an assault involves a weapon or causes a serious physical injury, the crime will be treated as a felony. In addition, you must either intend to cause a serious injury by your actions, or recklessly cause serious physical to another by means of a dangerous instrument or deadly weapon.
Because intent can be difficult to prove, a Mohegan Sun Casino assault lawyer may be able to defend against the charges by showing that the person accused lacked the requisite intent.
When is Assault a Misdemeanor?
An individual may commit third-degree assault in one of three ways. If someone harms another person intentionally, but the injury is not serious and the assault did not involve a weapon or dangerous instrument, then the assault may be treated as assault in the third-degree.
Contact a Mohegan Sun Casino Assault Lawyer
Having an assault conviction on your record could harm your personal and professional opportunities for years to come. Anyone charged with assault should consider taking all available opportunities to fight the charges right from the start.
A knowledgeable Mohegan Sun Casino assault lawyer could start collecting evidence to build a strong defense and work to minimize the negative consequences. For a consultation to learn how an assault lawyer could help in your case, call Mark Sherman Law. Check out what our past clients have to say about working with us here.