Norwalk Aggravated Assault Lawyer
Norwalk police and judges take assault cases very seriously. If you face charges, do not hesitate to contact a skilled domestic violence defense attorney. With a Norwalk aggravated assault lawyer by your side, you could fight for a positive resolution of your charges.
What are the Different Types of Assault in Norwalk?
Assault cases generally involve some form of violent physical contact between two or more individuals. While that contact is often made intentionally, in some instances careless or reckless behavior can still be charged as criminal assault.
The statutes that govern assault in Connecticut set forth a number of factors that aggravate an offense, which increases the severity of the offense and adds to the potential penalties.
Depending on the nature and severity of the offense, the most serious assault charges that the Norwalk Police hand down are assault in the first degree and assault in the second degree.
What is First-Degree Assault in CT?
Assault in the first degree is a very serious offense in Norwalk. It is classified as a Class B felony and can lead to jail time of up to 20 years, probation, and fines of up to $15,000. Under Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-59, a person is guilty of assault in the first degree if their actions include any of the following:
- Production of serious injury by using a dangerous instrument or deadly weapon
- Intention to produce serious or permanent disfigurement to another or to amputate, destroy, or disfigure part of another person’s body
- Reckless engagement in conduct capable of causing another party’s death that ultimately produces serious physical harm
- Acts designed to cause serious physical harm that are undertaken by two or more individuals
- The production of injury to another via the use of a firearm or other type of gun.
Assault in the Second Degree
While assault in the second degree is less serious than assault in the first degree, an arrest for assault in the second degree still carries harsh and aggressive penalties. Assault in the second degree is classified as a Class C or D felony, depending on the circumstances of the arrest. If the assault caused serious physical injury to the other person, then it will be charged as a Class C felony and carries a potential jail sentence of up to 10 years, probation, and a fine of up to $10,000.
In most other cases, assault in the second degree is charged as a Class D felony, and the potential jail sentence is reduced to a maximum of 5 years, probation, and a fine of up to $5,000.
Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-60 governs assault in the second degree, and broadly encompasses a variety of actions, including the following:
- Causing such injury either to the intended party or a third party
- Causing injury through the use of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument (including a firearm that is used as a club but not discharged)
- An individual on parole acting with intent to injure personnel from the Board of Pardons and Paroles and causing such injury
- Causing serious physical injury to another by striking the other on the head
- Other than in the course of medical or therapeutic treatment, acting with intent to put another into a stupor or cause impairment or injury through the use of a drug or other substance
Talk to a Norwalk Aggravated Assault Attorney Today
An arrest for assault in the first degree or assault in the second degree in Norwalk is very serious and can have a lasting impact on your criminal record and future. If you have been charged with assault in the first degree or assault in the second degree by the Norwalk Police, it is essential that you contact a top Norwalk aggravated assault lawyer today who is well-versed in the area of the law and can build you the best defense possible. Call today to set up a consultation.