Ridgefield Second-Degree Strangulation Lawyer
As many of the best Ridgefield criminal defense attorneys can explain, Connecticut law defines three different versions of strangulation as a crime. Two are felonies with the potential for lengthy prison sentences, heavy fines, and other potentially life-changing consequences. If you have been accused of strangulation, you should contact a Ridgefield second-degree strangulation lawyer as soon as possible. A veteran defense attorney could analyze the details of your case in order to craft the best possible defense.
Ridgefield Strangulation Arrests are Referred to Superior Court
All Ridgefield, Connecticut arrests are sent to Superior Court where prosecutors are thoroughly versed in strangulation arrests. Anyone charged with second or third-degree strangulation needs to work with an equally experienced Ridgefield criminal defense law firm to prepare the best defense possible.
A top Ridgefield second-degree strangulation lawyer will work to preserve evidence, analyze medical evidence, and work toward the optimum outcome based on the circumstances.
What is the Definition of Strangulation in Connecticut?
Under the Connecticut criminal code, an individual may be charged with three different types strangulation offense, classified as first, second, or third degree.
You can be arrested for strangulation in the third degree (C.G.S. § 53a-64cc) when you “recklessly” restrain another person by the throat in such a way that it interferes with the person’s ability to breathe or with blood circulation. Strangulation in the second degree is defined as intentionally restraining another person by the throat or neck in a way that constricts the blood flow or interferes with the person’s ability to draw breath.
The factor that distinguishes second-degree strangulation from third-degree strangulation is the intent of the individual taking the action. If the individual is found to have acted with the intent to restrict breathing or blood flow, the offense will be considered strangulation in the second degree. (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-64bb.)
What is Strangulation First Degree?
The definition of first-degree strangulation is based on the above definition of second-degree strangulation. If an act of restraining by the neck or throat is committed with the use of a “dangerous instrument” or if that act causes severe injury, then the act will be considered first-degree strangulation. A second-degree strangulation scenario also becomes a first-degree offense if the individual committing the act has previously been convicted of the same crime.
Penalties for Strangulation
Connecticut law classifies strangulation in the second degree as a Class D felony. An individual convicted of this offense can be sentenced to up to five years in prison. In addition, a fine of up to $5,000 may be imposed. Strangulation in the third degree, that is, committed without a finding of intent, is considered a Class A misdemeanor, exposing you to one year of imprisonment and a fine of up to $2,000. Strangulation in the first degree is a Class C felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. The penalties for strangulation charges are high, therefore, it is important for a defendant to reach out to a Ridgefield strangulation lawyer.
Get Help From a Ridgefield Strangulation Attorney
In most cases involving second-degree strangulation in Ridgefield, the courts impose protective and restraining orders at various points in the proceedings. These orders restrict contact between parties and often restrict an individual’s access to the home, workplace, or other premises.
An experienced Ridgefield second-degree strangulation lawyer could provide advice on how to comply with orders, help you seek less restrictive orders, work to collect and preserve evidence, and provide counsel on the best way to proceed based on the circumstances to reach the optimum outcome. Contact our office to put our team to work for you.