Weston Domestic Violence Penalties
Penalties for domestic or family violence arrests in Weston vary greatly because Weston Police file charges on a case-by-case basis. The use of weapons, resulting injuries, or the intent of the parties as alleged by Weston Police all make a difference as to which domestic violence offense will be charge and the nature of the consequences.
Weston domestic violence penalties all include the risk of prison, significant fines and restraining orders. Therefore, it is wise for anyone who has been arrested for a domestic violence offense to seek advice from a capable Weston defense attorney to preserve evidence, avoid costly mistakes, and craft a defense strategy that can hopefully get your Weston arrest dismissed.
Domestic Violence is Family Violence
Although the term domestic violence is commonly used among Weston Police Department officers, Connecticut lawmakers chose the term family violence instead. Family violence is considered to be an injury or threat of violence that occurs between family or household members.
It is the relationship between the parties that determines whether an arrest is considered domestic violence. The relationships are defined as follows:
- Husband and wife (past or present)
- Parents and children
- Relatives by blood or marriage (past or present)
- Those who have lived together (past or present)
- Those who have had a child together
- Those who have dated (past or present)
Felony Domestic Violence Arrests in Weston
A number of different offenses may be considered domestic violence. The way a crime is classified determines the penalties that may be ordered by the courts. Felony domestic violence offenses in Connecticut include:
- Assault in the First Degree — Class B felony
- Assault in the Second Degree — Class C or D felony
- Harassment in the First Degree — Class D felony
- Strangulation in the First Degree — Class C felony
- Strangulation in the Second Degree — Class D felony
- Threatening in the First Degree — Class C or D felony
- Stalking in the First Degree — Class D felony
- Assault Causing Termination of Pregnancy — Class A felony
Class A felonies are the most extreme in Connecticut and carry the most severe penalties. While some can be considered capital crimes, most carry sentences that include periods of incarceration of 10-25 years and maximum fines of up to $20,000. Those convicted of Class B felonies will face prison sentences of up to 20 years and fines as high as $15,000.
Class C felonies include penalties with a term of imprisonment up to 10 years and fines of up to $10,000. And Class D felonies may be punished by sentences up to 5 years and a maximum fine of $5,000. An attorney can attempt to mitigate the Weston domestic violence penalties that an individual may face.
Misdemeanor Domestic Violence Crimes
Although less serious than felony offenses, misdemeanors are nonetheless treated as substantial crimes under Connecticut law. Those occurring most frequently in domestic violence cases include:
- Disorderly Conduct — Class C misdemeanor (the most common arrest)
- Threatening in the Second Degree –Class A misdemeanor
- Stalking in the Second Degree — Class A misdemeanor
- Assault in the Third Degree — Class A misdemeanor
- Reckless Endangerment in the First Degree –Class A misdemeanor
- Reckless Endangerment in the Second Degree — Class B misdemeanor
- Stalking in the Third Degree — Class B misdemeanor
- Harassment Second Degree — Class C misdemeanor
Penalties for Weston Misdemeanor Arrests
As with felony offenses, Class A misdemeanors are the most serious. Maximum sentences for those convicted of a Class A misdemeanor include up to one year of jail and a fine as high as $2,000.
Penalties for Class B misdemeanors include up to 6 months of imprisonment and a fine of up to $1,000. Those convicted of Class C misdemeanors face up to 3 months in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Hiring a Domestic Violence Lawyer
In this complex area of law, those looking for more information about Weston domestic violence penalties, and the offenses that trigger those penalties, are advised to consult with a legal team that is thoroughly familiar with Connecticut domestic violence laws. If you have been arrested in Connecticut for a domestic violence crime, contact a local defense lawyer today.