Wilton First-Degree Assault Lawyer
Wilton Connecticut Arrests
Video Title: Wilton Connecticut Arrests
Uploaded Date: 6/29/2017
Assault First Degree under CGS 53a-59 is punishable by up to 20 years in prison in addition to fines and other consequences. And in many cases, the law specifies that a judge may not suspend or reduce a jail sentence imposed for this crime.
Wilton police and prosecutors have been taking an increasingly harsh stance against assault crimes, which is why it is vital that you contact a qualified defense attorney. If you have been arrested for assault in the first degree, then it is critical to work with an attorney to help you build the best defense under the circumstances of your particular case.
Wilton Connecticut assault arrests are sent to Norwalk Superior Court at 17 Belden Avenue because Wilton is too small of a town to have a criminal courthouse of its own. If you have been arrested, contact a Wilton first-degree assault lawyer right away.
What Is First Degree Assault Under Wilton Connecticut Law?
A Wilton Connecticut arrest for Assault in the First degree is often called assault with a deadly weapon, and frequently weapons are involved with this charge. However, the use of a weapon is not required to get arrested for a violation of the statute.
Assault First Degree law is codified in Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-59, which sets forth 5 different situations which constitute assault in the first degree.
Under §53a-59(a), you can get arrested in Wilton, Connecticut for assault in the first degree when:
- intending to cause serious injury to another, you use a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument to inflict such an injury;
- intending to permanently disfigure or amputate, destroy, or permanently disable the body part of another, you cause such an injury;
- demonstrating extreme indifference to human life, you act recklessly so as to create a risk of death to another and in doing so, cause serious physical injury;
- intending to cause serious physical injury to another, you cause such injury while assisted by two or more others; or
- intending to cause physical injury to another, you cause an injury by firing a gun or other firearm.
Intent Matters in an Arrest
It is important to note that in all of these 5 scenarios, an individual must act with a certain state of mind in order for the offense to be considered a first-degree assault. In most instances, the individual must deliberately intend to cause the type of harm that results.
However, the individual does not need to intend to cause harm, but must be acting reckless enough and must show a tremendous lack of regard for danger caused to others.
Because the state of mind is a key element of a Wilton Connecticut first-degree assault arrest, it is essential to ensure that the facts that could demonstrate such intent or the lack thereof are fully investigated and presented to the court in the most favorable light by a Wilton first-degree assault lawyer.
Stiff Jail Penalties for a Wilton Connecticut Assault Arrest
Connecticut law classifies first-degree assault as a Class B felony, one of the most severe categories of crimes in Connecticut law. This offense is punishable by a fine of up to $15,000 and prison sentences of up to 20 years. In addition, if the assault is made against a correctional officer, pregnant female, elderly person or young child, the penalties can substantially increase and require mandatory minimum jail sentences.
Hire an Experienced Assault Lawyer
With penalties exposing you to such a lengthy amount of jail time, an assault arrest in Wilton requires serious action and an aggressive, comprehensive legal defense. That is why it is essential that an assault attorney quickly files motions with the Norwalk criminal court to preserve evidence and ensure that the facts are fully investigated and evaluated. If you have been charged with first-degree assault, contact an experienced Wilton first-degree assault lawyer who can start working toward the best possible resolution of your case. Call now to get started.